Axelrod, Viktor 'If You Ask Me To...Productions For Daptone Records' LP red/black swirl vinyl

Quick Overview

a compilation of his reggae productions and remixes, featuring previously unreleased tracks by Binky Griptite and Sugar Minott; on limited red/black swirl vinyl

Incl. 19% Tax, excl. Shipping Cost

Symarip 'Skinhead Moonstomp'  180g LP


If you’re a fan of Daptone Records, chances are you’ve read or heard the name Victor Axelrod, and even if you haven’t, you’ve heard music from his hand. As a producer, arranger, recording and mixing engineer, and keyboardist, his creativity has extended across more than two decades of the label’s releases, even dating to its prehistory with Desco Records.
His resume as a keyboardist, arranger, writer, and producer includes more than 60 Daptone credits, including extensive work with The Dap-Kings, including Sharon Jones, Charles Bradley, Lee Fields, Daptone newcomer Jalen N'Gonda, and others. He earned a Grammy Award for his contribution to Amy Winehouse’s Back To Black and has worked on dozens of projects with Mark Ronson, including the reggae remix of Miike Snow’s “Animal.” He was the original keyboardist for Antibalas appearing on their studio recordings until 2013. His passion for reggae production dates back to the 1990's and early 2000's co-producing the renown "Dub Side of the Moon" album and later his own "Ticklah vs Axelrod" album for Easy Star Records.
For Daptone, he produced The Frightnrs landmark Nothing More To Say album and their follow up, Always, as well as singles by Leon Dinero and wildly popular reggae remixes of Bob and Gene (“I Can Be Cool” and “It’s Not What You Know”) and Sharon Jones & the Dap-Kings (“How Long Do I Have To Wait”).

A1 –Sugar Minott - One Step Ahead
A2 –Leon Dinero - If You Ask Me To
A3 –Charles Bradley - Whatcha Doing (To Me)
A4 –Bob & Gene - I Can Be Cool
A5 –Binky Griptite - Lover Like Me
B1 –The Frightnrs - I'd Rather Go Blind
B2 –Bob & Gene - I Can't Stand These Lonely Nights
B3 –Bob & Gene - It's Not What You Know (It's Who You Know)
B4 –Sharon Jone - How Long Do I Have to Wait For You
B5 –The Inversions - Conscience is Heavy

Additional Information

Product Code DAP-070
Delivery time No

Product Tags

Use spaces to separate tags. Use single quotes (') for phrases.