Davis, Melvin 'Detroit Soul Ambassador' CD

Incl. 19% Tax, excl. Shipping Cost

Davis, Melvin 'Detroit Soul Ambassador'  CD


first ever compilation of the complete early to mid-60s recordings by this essential figure of Detroit's music history!

contains the northern soul floor-fillers 'Find A QuietPlace (And Be Lonely)' and 'I Must Love You' plus four previously unreleased tracks from the Groovesville vaults. Another great title in Vampisoul's series of essential Detroit artists, to be filed next to Nathaniel Mayer and Andre Williams. Detroit soul is represented in all its stylistic nuances: the garage R&B of 'I Don't Want You', the proto-northern sound of 'I Won't Be Your Fool', the bohemian jazz inflections of 'It's No News', the frantic rock'n'roll of'Playboy' and 'This Ain't The Way', the persistent, minorkeyedmood of 'Wedding Bells' and the majesty of 'Find A Quiet Place' and 'I Must Love You'. Comprehensive liner notes by writer, historian and musician Michael Hurtt.

track list:
01. About Love
02. I Don't Want You
03. Playboy (don't You Play In School)
04. I Won't Be Your Fool
05. It's No News
06. Wedding Bells
07. Find A Quiet Place (and Be Lonely)
08. This Ain't The Way
09. I Must Love You
10. Still In My Heart
11. Chains Of Love
12. I'm The One Who Loves You
13. I Need My Baby
14. I Won't Love You And Leave You

Additional Information

Product Code Vampi Soul-16004
Delivery time N/A

Product Tags

Use spaces to separate tags. Use single quotes (') for phrases.