McAuliffe, Leon 'Tulsa Straight Ahead - Gonna Shake This Shack Tonight' CD

Incl. 19% Tax, excl. Shipping Cost

McAuliffe, Leon 'Tulsa Straight Ahead - Gonna Shake This Shack Tonight'  CD


This great album presents 31 tracks of his classic period (1949 ' 1955), all taken from the original sources. It contains four previously unissued recordings! Steel guitarist Leon McAuliffe will forever be associated with the King of Western Swing Bob Wills and his Texas Playboys, with whom he recorded the all-time classic 'Steel Guitar Rag.' McAuliffe recorded for various labels over the years, but his classic period was the six years he spent with Columbia. From his first release on the label, the all-time instrumental classic 'Panhandle Rag', he waxed some of the best, tightest, most swinging and assured western swing ever recorded. These recordings highly sought after not only by western swing fans but by fans of early rock 'n' roll and rockabilly for the many jump and boogie tracks that anticipated the coming of those styles a few years later!

track list:
1. Panhandle Rag
2. Hard-Hearted Girl
3. Hear Me Now
4. Rag Mop
5. Cimarron Rag
6. Take It Away, Leon
7. Sh-Boom (Life Could Be A Dream)
8. Run 'Em Off
9. No One For Me
10. The Three Bears
11. Bonaparte's Retreat
12. Blue Guitar Stomp
13. What've You Got
14. Birmingham Bounce
15. I've Never Lived In Tennessee
16. Eating Right Out Of Your Hand
17. Chattanooga Shoe Shine Boy
18. Tulsa, Straight Ahead
19. Jelly Bean Rag
20. Mr. Steel Guitar
21. Hard-Hearted Girl
22. Redskin Rag
23. Wished You Would
24. Somebody Else Is Beatin' My Time
25. This Side Of Town
26. Twin Fiddle Rag
27. Blacksmith Blues
28. What, Were And When
29. Smooth Sailing
30. There's A Right Way, A Wrong Way
31. Daylight

Additional Information

Product Code BCD 16987 AH-13238
Delivery time N/A

Product Tags

Use spaces to separate tags. Use single quotes (') for phrases.