V.A. 'Do The Reggae - Skinhead Reggae In The Spirit of '69' 2-CD

Quick Overview

2-CD set comprising 58 classic skinhead favourites - the sequel to the 'Monkey Business' and 'More Monkey Business' compilations
Incl. 19% Tax, excl. Shipping Cost

Perkins, Carl 'Blue Suede Shoes' + 'Honey Don't'  7"


2-CD set comprising 58 classic skinhead favourites - the sequel to the 'Monkey Business' and 'More Monkey Business' compilations

track list:
Disc 1:
1. Do The Reggae (aka Do The Reggay Dance) - The Tennors
2. Woman Capture Man – The Ethiopians
3. Bombshell – Bobby Ellis & The Crystalites
4. Who You Gonna Run To – The Shades
5. Dolly House On Fire – The Reggae Boys
6. The Saint (aka The Saints Go Marching In) - Tommy McCook & The Supersonics
7. A Heavy Load – Rudy Mills
8. Run Girl Run – G.G. Grossett
9. Lee Van Cleef – King Stitt & The Dynamites
10. Mr DJ - The Conquerors
11. Where Were You – The Techniques
12. Soul Special – Karl ‘King Cannon' Bryan & The Jay Boys
13. Baby Baby – Val Bennett
14. Love Love Everyday – Errol Dunkley & The Pioneers
15. Five To Five – Lloyd Charmers & The Hippy Boys
16. Ease Up – The Bleechers
17. The Warrior – Johnny Osbourne & The Sensations
18. Bigger Boss – Count Sticky & Ansel Collins with The J.J. Johnson All Stars
19. The Storm - The Emotions
20. You Had Your Chance – The Gaylads
21. A Taste Of Killing – The Upsetters
22. Private Number – Ernest Wilson
23. Shu-Be-Do (aka Shoo-Be-Do) – Clancy Eccles & The Slickers
24. Mannix – The Rhythm Rulers
25. Sentimental Reason – The Maytones
26. Hold The Pussy – Kid Gungo
27. Decimal Currency – The Blenders
28. Baff Boom – The Tennors
29. Derrick Pop-The-Top – Derrick Morgan

1. Reggae Buddy - The Victors
2. Soul Pipe – Karl ‘King Cannon' Bryan
3. Gimme Back – Derrick Morgan
4. Happy Time – Keble Drummond (as Herbie Carter)
5. Drop Pon - The Crystalites
6. Well Red (aka Well Dread) – The Ethiopians
7. Better Herring – The Pioneers
8. Dr No Go (aka Boss Boss) - The Hippy Boys
9. It's Alright – Ken Parker
10. Since You've Been Gone – Eric Frater
11. The Ugly One – King Stitt &The Dynamites
12. Return Of The Ugly – The Upsetters
13. Me No Born Ya – The Reggae Boys
14. Got To Come Back - Delano Stewart
15. Grandfather's Clock – Winston Wright & The Rupie Edwards All Stars
16. Everybody Bawling – The Melodians
17. You're My Everything – The Techniques
18. Reflections Of Don D - Johnny Moore & The Supersonics
19. The Moon Is Playing Tricks On Me – Trevor Shield
20. Rum Bay - The Emotions
21. Biafra – The Crystalites
22. Bend The Tree – Amiel Moodie & The Dandemites
23. The Girl I Love – The Visions
24. Jay Fever (aka Shining) – Karl Bryan & The Jay Boys
25. Mother Hen – George & Steve (as The Harmonisers)
26. Diana – Alton Ellis
27. Man Pon Moon – Derrick Morgan
28. Son Of Reggae - Sylvan Williams
29. Reggae Dance – Owen Gray

In 1969, after not so quietly developing in the Britain’s inner-cities over the months that had followed the demise of the once all-prevailing mod scene, the working-class youth subculture that became known as ‘skinhead’ exploded into mainstream British consciousness.
The popularity of the new brash style not only shook the country’s establishment to the core, it also helped propel the exciting new sound from Jamaica into the national pop charts: Reggae. Providing the ideal antidote to the perceived pretentiousness of prog rock, its throbbing, faced-paced style pulled no punches, with its simplistic and rhythms in stark contrast to the elaborate music widely favoured by many of the skinhead’s more affluent peers.>br> By 1969, the skinhead look and the sound of reggae had become synonymous and to mark the 50th anniversary of the year when both broke internationally, Trojan proudly presents this superb 2CD set comprising 58 classic skinhead favourites, all of which were originally released by British-based record companies half a century ago.
Stylishly complimenting the two previously issued ’Monkey Business’ compilations, ‘Do The Reggae’ forms part of the ‘Spirit of 69’ anniversary celebrations, due to take place in the UK and Europe throughout 2019.

Additional Information

Product Code TJDCD575
Delivery time No

Product Tags

Use spaces to separate tags. Use single quotes (') for phrases.